[Close] 

Online Teacher/Tutor

What is HAWO?
HAWO is the leader in online Group Class English education to young learners in China. We share
resources, offices, and technology with 51Talk, but 51Talk is the brand name for our one-on-one product.
We believe students learn best by interacting with their peers and teacher in a fun, interactive, and
engaging (digital) classroom environment. HAWO has teachers, like you, all over the globe using our
state-of-the-art technology and teaching materials. Through HAWO, we connect students based in China
with certified North American educators who deliver our tailored English lessons to K-12 learners across
the country.
What is Group Class?
Group Classes are 45-minute lessons conducted twice a week (by a HAWO teacher). These lessons take
place during peak hours?18:00 to 21:00 Beijing Standard Time. Classes are also taught by a Chinese
teacher once a week. Each class will usually have four students that are grouped together based on age
and English level. Chinese Teacher classes combine three classes for a total of 12 students per lesson.
How long does a Group Class last?
We have two kinds of group classes: Free Trial (FT) and Regular (REG). FT classes are demo lessons
conducted to encourage students to sign up and buy our learning packages. These classes run for 1-2
weeks. Once the students sign up, they go into the REG classes. These classes have the same students
that will attend your session on a fixed schedule that run for 10 weeks to six months.
Position Overview
The classes: 45-minute English language group classes
The pay: Base rate of $18 per 45-minute class, plus bonuses and incentives
The curriculum: U.S. Common Core aligned lesson material, customized for Chinese
students
The timing: Teachers can select a class time from a list of potential assignments (Peak
teaching times are from Monday to Friday, 6:00-9:00 PM Beijing Standard Time) that may
run for 10 weeks, on average
The place: Conveniently teach from your own home - no commute!
The tech: All you'll need is a computer with the required specs, a strong internet
connection, a webcam, and a noise-cancelling headset
The culture: We provide cultural discussion opportunities every week.
New work description:
Native English speaker with neutral accent
BA degree or currently enrolled as an education major in a university
Experience in teaching or tutoring
Experience in the U.S. or Canadian education systems
Teaching license and certificates preferred (CELTA, CertTESOL, DELTA, DipTESOL, state ESL
endorsement, MA TESOL)
A PC or MAC (manufactured in 2013 and up), a strong internet connection, a webcam, a
noise-cancelling headset, and a quiet place to teach
Committed to teaching group classes at least 10 hours a week for 10 weeks, including
weekends
Position Details
Contract type: Independent contractor
Start date: Immediately
Contract term: Part-Time (1 year)
Payment details: Teachers are paid through their choice of PayPal or bank transfer each
month for the previous month's work
Group Class lessons are during peak hours:
Monday-Sunday times
EST: 6:00 AM - 9:00 AM
CST: 5:00 AM - 8:00 AM
MST: 4:00 AM - 7:00 AM
PST: 3:00 AM - 6:00 AM
Hawaii: 1:00 AM - 4:00 AM
Additional Friday & Saturday times
EST: 9:00 PM - 11:00 PM
CST: 5 8:00 PM - 10:00 PM
MST: 7:00 PM - 09:00 PM
PST: 6:00 PM - 08:00 PM
Hawaii: 3:00 PM - 05:00 PM
Requirements
BA degree or currently enrolled as an education major in a university
Experience in teaching or tutoring
Experience in the U.S. or Canadian education systems
Teaching license and certificates preferred (CELTA, CertTESOL, DELTA, DipTESOL, state ESL
endorsement, MA TESOL)
A PC or MAC (manufactured in 2013 and up), a strong internet connection, a webcam, a
noise-cancelling headset, and a quiet place to teach
Committed to teaching group classes at least 10 hours a week for 10 weeks, including
weekends
Technical Requirements
For WINDOWS
Processor:
Intel Core i series - i3, i5, i7 with at least 4GB RAM (recommended 8GB)
AMD - A8 with at least 4GB RAM (recommended 8GB)
Operating System (OS):
Windows 7 and up, must be 64bit
For MAC
Processor:
Released 2013 and up - not more than 5 years old from manufacturing/release date
Intel Core i5
Intel Core i3 (Only if Mac OS is Sierra)
with at least 4GB RAM (recommended 8GB)
Operating System (OS):
El Capitan and up

Don't Be Fooled

The fraudster will send a check to the victim who has accepted a job. The check can be for multiple reasons such as signing bonus, supplies, etc. The victim will be instructed to deposit the check and use the money for any of these reasons and then instructed to send the remaining funds to the fraudster. The check will bounce and the victim is left responsible.

More Jobs

Online Teacher/Tutor
Cody, WY HAWO
Online Teacher/Tutor
Newcastle, WY HAWO
Online Teacher/Tutor
Douglas, WY HAWO
Online Teacher/Tutor
Evanston, WY HAWO
Online Teacher/Tutor
Rawlins, WY HAWO